Scholarship Award Selection Committee 2016-2017

Professor George Calhoun (Selection Committee Chairperson; Director, Quantitative Finance Program, School of Business, Stevens Institute of Technology)

George Calhoun, Ph.D., has spent 25 years in the high-tech segment of the wireless communications industry. He is a co-founder of InterDigital Communications Corporation (NASDAQ: IDCC), where he was involved for twelve years in the pioneering development of digital cellular technology, including the first systems based on TDMA technology (the architecture underlying approximately 80% of today’s cellular networks). Most recently, Dr. Calhoun was the Chairman and CEO of Illinois Superconductor Corporation. He is currently Executive in Residence & Program Director, Quantitative Finance, at Stevens Institute of Technology

Professor Hong Bing (Associate Professor, Assistant to Dean School of Journalism, Fudan University, Shanghai)

Dr. Hong Bing, associate professor, received his Ph.D. in communication studies from School of Journalism, Fudan University. His research interests focuses on media sociology, international communication and China’s media reform. In 2007 he was the first Media Fellow sponsored by US. China Education Trust to be the visiting scholar in University of Maryland. He is now the director of Fudan-LSE Global Media and Communication and Fudan-Sciences Po Communication and Media double master degree program.

Professor Fanglu Sun (SIRPA, Fudan University)

Fanglu Sun, Ph.D., is an assistant professor in SIRPA at Fudan University, China. Her research focuses broadly on internal conflict process and resolution, foreign policy analysis and ethnic politics in China. In her research, she applies quantitative analysis, spatial statistics and formal modeling. She has presented her research at the annual meetings of the American Political Science Association, the International Studies Association and the Peace Science

Professor Svetlana A. Malinovskaya (Stevens Institute of Technology)

Svetlana Malinovskaya, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor and the director of Ultrafast Dynamics and Control Theory Laboratory in the Department of Physics and Engineering Physics at Stevens Institute of Technology. Dr. Malinovskaya’s research has resulted in contributions to publications in leading journals, including Optics Letters and Physical Review, conference proceedings and patents. She has also developed courses that are taught at the Stevens Institute of Technology in her department.

Ms. Sharen Glennon (Committee Coordinator; Witness; Associate, The School of Business, Stevens)

Sharen Glennon has more than 25 years of experience in marketing communications for nonprofit organizations, specializing in higher education programs at the graduate level. For more than a dozen years she served as Assistant Director and then Associate Director of Marketing for the School of Business at Stevens Institute of Technology. Glennon has also acted as the Executive Coordinator of the former Howe School Alliance for Technology Management. She holds a master’s degree in Management from Stevens Institute of Technology.

Professor Marion Moreau (Academic Coordinator at Sciences Po Paris, School of Public Affairs, Master in European Affairs)

Professor Marion Moreau is a graduate of the École Normale Supérieure (Paris), where she studied literature and social sciences. She has taught literature, journalism and publishing at Paris Sorbonne University for four years and is teaching at the Sciences Po Summer School since 2014. She is currently completing her Ph.D. in nineteenth-century French literature and is academic coordinator at Sciences Po Paris School of Public Affairs since October 2016, in charge of the Master in European Affairs.

Ms. Ellie Abdi (Montclair State University)

Ellie Abdi is a doctoral researcher and a former gymnast and coach, currently a physical, health and dance education teacher and Professional Development Coordinator for the Department of Health and Physical Education, in addition to being a research and teacher leader, for an urban district in New Jersey. She is also a Clinical Faculty member in the College of Education and Human Services at Montclair State University. Her educational background includes an Associate’s degree in Arts from North Arkansas Community College, a Bachelor of Science degree in Recreation Professions, a Post-Bachelor of Arts in Physical & Health Education and a Master’s of Education in Philosophy for Children from Montclair State University in New Jersey and a Doctoral Studies in Educational Leadership from Northcentral University in Arizona.

Ms. Emily Wexler, PE

Emily Wexler, PE, is a Senior Associate, Strategic Project Development, for Tranquility49 PR. In this capacity, she consults on matters of business development, grant preparation and conference organization. She also provides project management, marketing materials, budget control and content creation. Ms. Wexler’s educational background includes a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from Clemson University; a Master of Science degree in Management and Project Management from Stevens Institute of Technology and an MBA degree from Auburn University. In addition, she is a Professional Mechanical Engineer (P.E.) in the State of California and is a Certified Quality Engineer (C.Q.E.)

Mr. Patrick A. Berzinski (Committee Witness, Communications Consultant, Tranquility49 PR)

Patrick A. Berzinski serves the Lohez Foundation as communications consultant and media relations manager. From 2000 to 2010 his work was primarily in institutional communications for Stevens Institute of Technology, where he most recently served as Executive Director of University Communications. In 2010, he was appointed VP, Business Development, at Dash Media PR in New York City, where he later held the title of Senior Consultant. He is the founder and CEO of Tranquility49 PR, a media promotion, media production and business-development consulting group.